One Sixth Warriors Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Business Dog Workshop
127 Posts
I was just looking at that this morning!

I passed out a little when I looked at the price tag. I'm considering selling a custom figure soon, and I feel bad enough asking for even $300 for it (it cost $250 to make).

Recently on eBay I watched a Kai "The Last Of Us" Joel custom go for $1,000. But that was probably due to a bidding war gone crazy lol

But that's insane. I'm only new to this hobby (about 8-9 months collecting/reading up on 1:6 goodness), but are these kinds of prices common/normal for quality custom figures like this? (Beyond the triple digit prices)

·
Registered
5,849 Posts
This just wishful thinking. The background info is that this is a one-of-a-kind fig made by Rainman for a client. Ive read that RM one off commissions run around $6K. Yet this guy wants 3K+ profit on the fig!! this is just crazy!!!

·
Registered
1,402 Posts
If I remember correstly, this figure caused a lot of bad blood over at SSF. It seems RM doesn't re-visit figures he has done as 1-off customs and there was a campaign to get him to do David as a full run (30 figures or so)-lower cost, more availability. And this guy short-circuited that by going to Rainman directly and commisioning a 1-off figure. Lots of very unhappy campers for quite some time over the issue.

·
1:6 Acquisitionist
12,917 Posts
In a private discussion group, there has been some active discussion as of late about "custom" "OOAK" 1:6 figures posted for sale on eBay.

Granted, there are some exceptional custom figures on eBay every now and then, but the majority of the figures posted for sale are bluntly speaking . . . @ $ $ that is not worth the asking price.

It seems as if there are some sellers emboldened by previous auctions that actually sold where a bidder supposedly paid an outrageous amount for a figure that quite frankly some within this very forum can do a much better job on.