One Sixth Warriors Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
1:6 Kitbashing Junkie
569 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,
I am working on some German WW2 zombies and wanted some tips on weathering their uniforms and blooding them up. I tried leaving the uniforms in coffe for a day but did not get any results from this. I am not that experienced in painting/weathering so any tips would be helpful. Thanks in advance I hope I place this in the right topic.

·
Registered
3,285 Posts
Ok, here we go with a few questions you need to ask yourself first:

What are the wounds? What killed the zombie?

Were the wound(s) treated?

Did he die with his boots on outside or in bed at home/hospital?

How long ago was it since he died?

Lets start with the obvious things first:

If the corpse is old, the skin will take on a wooden dark finish as it dries out. In time, the skin will start to crack and the upper layer of the skin will start to peel off - these wounds won't bleed by the way.

Blood has a dark red colour when its fresh, but the older it is, the darker it gets, until when its really old when it turns almost black. It will never really loose the sheen though.

Also regarding blood, remember that the natural reaction to a serious non-incapacitating wound is to reach for it. This will cause the blood to smear around the wound and make the hands bloody. Again, the older the darker.

Dirt is another matter: most new dirt will collect on the shoes and unless its very wet, dry out the higher up on the legs it appears. Also remember that dirt tends to collect in crevices, especially on boots and shoes. For zombies, think about how he died - face down? More dirt on the front. On the back? More dirt on the back.

My quite fresh zombie. The blood has dried up, but not turned that dark.