One Sixth Warriors Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I live on the SouthEast side of Indy, I'm a newbie to OSW and want to meet others like-minded. Either here in Indy or close by. As a USN vet I have the idea of making a 1/6 scale PT boat. I am currently working on the plans and the logistics. It can be done! I am more of a vehicle type modeler than the figure creator. So am I in the right area to discuss this project?
Barry

·
Registered
211 Posts
Hello Pt105, Welcome to this site where there are many like-minded people here, you can be sure. You are definitely in the right area and I am confident that many of the people on here with incredible talent will enjoy seeing and hearing of such a project. I know I would.

·
Registered
806 Posts
Even in 1/6th you are looking at a beast of a thing. It will be the size of a row boat and need a trailer. Sparky and I gave this serious consideration once – it did not get past a string laid out on the ground and dreams. I’d suggest looking at stitch and glue plywood construction methods—Chesapeake Light Craft is a maker of kayaks and small boats with this method and have videos on You Tube to get an idea of what is involved.
I built the deck house, cockpit, 50 cal turret and mast section for photo shoots—even that took a lot or real estate.
Good luck keep us appraised of your progress.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the interest, SSGStank you will be on the A list for the progress photos. Still in the planning stages and working on the build site. Jon Math, way ahead of you on the size issue. I have purchased a bell hull 14' boat.