One Sixth Warriors Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
597 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well its actually a resculpt. I finally decided to try and resculpt a head so what other head to try and resculpt other then my fav actor Christian Bale. I used the Triad Toys Enforcer headsculpt as the base. It has that Bale likeness but i just wanted to see how much i could actually improve it. This is an extremely rough draft, I have to smooth out some areas and wanted to get feedback on what You guys think i can improve on. Please be kind remember its my First attempt ever! :devilhnd

Original Head

Attempted Resculpt

·
Registered
1,202 Posts

Okay, if you want to do this right -- you need to take a systematic approach. What I like to do besides collecting minimum of 50 photographs of the actual subject from mostly frontal, 3/4 left & right, profile, is to get photos showing high contrast between light and dark. This way contour of facial features really stand out.

A good way is to use photo software and come up with a composite of before & after like the above. What I did was to throw away the color information, then adjust the brightness & contrast.

So, the resculpting method is a good way .. sometimes. If the base/bone structure of the vinyl original is at all close to the subject.

From the looks of it -- you wanted to widen the nose & the chin. I think that's the right call. IMO you're still a little too pointy on the chin, whereas the real man's is perhaps more subtle and rounded. On the before and the real man's photo -- you will see that there is a depressed area between the chin and the lower teeth crop out/lower mouth area, in fact you should see that Mr. Bale has a skin fold line (rinkle) there .. it looks like you filled that natural low spot in when you built the chin up.