One Sixth Warriors Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
1:6 Miniature Craftsman
695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I received a Proxxon DB250 Mini Lathe for Christmas.

I've never done any wood turning before, so for the last few weeks I've been turning fat sticks into skinny ones to try and get used to it.

I finally felt comfortable enough to try making something so I thought I'd start with mini baseball bats. They are teaching me how to graduate from one thickness down to another and helping me learn how to use precise measurements. The large ones are 1:6 scale to a couple of millimeters of tolerance.

Attachments

·
Pug Lord
1,122 Posts
Love it! Baseball bat is an excellent first project! Looks like you hit one out of the park!
Couldn't help myself!
Great work!

·
Registered
490 Posts
Looking good I have many items around my home crafted on my father's lathe in 1:1 scale.

Your next step should be end turning I.e. making plates and bowls

I will admit I was looking at a small metal working lathe by the same company before Christmas

622 Posts
Great! Only operated metal lathe, this one seems to be way too clean and practic, looks perfect for 1:6 world!

·
Say what?
9,400 Posts
That's cool on so many levels.

Let me know when you offer bats for sale.

In all the years I've worked with wood, I've never used a lathe. They tell me it takes a lot of practice. Clearly, you're getting there.

·
wave man TDY staff
41,776 Posts
Very nice! I am thinking that this size lathe could eventually be producing cannon, rifle, and pistol barrels, for modifying scale weapons.

·
695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 · (Edited)
Thanks guys. If anyone asks what I've been doing, I reply that I am making sawdust and selling the byproduct :)