One Sixth Warriors Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As you can probably all tell I'm fairly new to the hobby and started collecting stuff about a year ago. I know for sure I've laid out a few 1000 on the figures I have (and I'm not even displaying them yet). But as has been mentioned a few times both quality as well as prices have been going thru the roof in the last few years (wish I had been in the hobby back then).

My point is what happened to the $30 -$40 figure, it seems all the newer released figures, regardless of company are coming at $80-90 bucks to say the least.

Is it just me or is it getting a bit ridiculous?

All input welcome but if your going to chime in with ditch the hobby don't let the post degrade into what it's not supposed to be.

·
sits in a loose parts box
7,448 Posts
In my opinion you cant really compare the first DML and BBI Modern Figures to the "State of the Art" Hot Toys and ACE Figures of today. The come with a ton more stuff, much more detailed, much better bodies (G1 vs. True Type) and Headsculpts.
I know there are a few good old parts still out there, but thats only because none of the companys have tried again if hot toys revamped the 21st Sets nobody would care about them anymore either.

just my .2cents.

·
Registered
4,457 Posts
IMHO - I think there are a few factors at work, that have a lot to do with the price.

Over all quality is way up - Back in the day when 21st and BBi started putting out sets I still called them toys. Now they are more like high end model kits.

The makers of these high-end model kits are catering to a limited audience, and they still need to turn a profit. They can't put $100 figures in Toys R Us and expect a lot of sales (except from folks like us).

This is also a petroleum based hobby. With oil prices going through the roof so goes the prices of everything made from petroleum.