One Sixth Warriors Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to custom figure bashing, and I am working on a project that has me seeking some suggestions.

The figure is based on a movie character, so there are very specific reference materials available. During the course of the movie, the character progresses from clean and properly dressed to weathered and scruffy looking, losing some costume pieces along the way. Either look would be amazing if properly pulled off, but in my planning I was going to attempt to make both versions in one figure. Now, I am realizing that may be a bad idea.

The less weathered version would be easier, but it might look more "toyish" because of how new all the clothes would look. The weathered look is less iconic than the clean look because of the missing costume pieces, but still pretty cool. Since I don't really need two figures, I think I am going to have to choose one look over the other. There really is no middle ground without straying from screen accurate.

So, how do you choose to edit your figure bashing projects? Are you a weathering junkie, choosing the dirtiest look over all others? Or are you a screen accurate obsessive, requiring everything to look just as it did in the movie? Should I choose bits and pieces of both looks so that the figure is weathered and still has all the little costume pieces even though that means it won't be screen accurate?

·
BioChem Division
1,207 Posts
i dont know which character you are referring to, but it is definitely possible to "weather" a new looking outfit without trashing it.

the key to this kind of weathering is to amplify the subtleties of the outfit rather than simply dirtying up, and at the same time maintaining a clean look. kinda hard to explain.