One Sixth Warriors Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello I am new at this whole sixth scale figure thing and was wondering if anybody had any good techniques or knew any websites that may have information on how to weather the clothing for my 1:6 scale figures?

·
King Geek and OSW Admin
9,329 Posts
I use a method called "dry brushing".

For weathering a whole uniform, take a decent-sized, flat-head brush and dip it in your desired color. (For me it's Tamiya BUFF for desert and Tamiya FLAT EARTH for a woodland enviorment. The colors apply to the color effect you're looking for-- not the color of the fatigures.)

Be sure to get as much of it off the brush and back into the bottle as possible. Then rub your brush on a double-folded paper towel till it look like almost all of the paint is of your brush.

Now apply the brush to the uniform. You'll want to build up the dirt in layers because you can always apply more paint if you need it-- but you can't take it away once it's on. So, that's why it's important to be sure you have as much paint off the brush as possible before you apply it to the uniform.

Once you get a feel for it, things will go faster. You won't get much coverage out of each dip in the bottle, so be prepared to keep going back.

You don't need to be subtle. Feel free to really rub the brush into the clothing-- much in the same way a uniform would be rubbed in the mud or sand in real life.

Also, to be more realistic, be sure to weather the areas that would meet the dirt heavier (like knees, elbow and butts) than areas that wouldn't.

Once you have the base layer, you can take a darker color-- or weathering chalk (just ground up pastel chalks from an art store)-- and go deeper with the drity areas and creases around folds and pockets and such.

Hopefully, this will get you off to a good start!

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·