One Sixth Warriors Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
has gone Russian...
346 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm quite new to the 1/6th scene so I've been picking up information regarding the best places to buy kit from, I don't buy complete figures as I like to 'bash' my own, so its all small parts that I'm ordering.

Now apart from the obvious ebay, which I've found to be a very useful place to shop, I've purchased from several 'main stream' suppliers, such as 'Black-Ops Toys.com', 'Collectable Kitbash.com' and 'Monkey Depot.com', I've had good experiences all round, with lots of choice, and great service - however, I received a bill (invoice) today from FedEx, now I appreciate this is legal (I've researched this) and I have no problem paying VAT or tax on an imported item (I'm a good boy, honest!) but I feel a bit miffed at the £10 'Clearance Administration Charge' when the VAT is only £6.18 - has anyone else experienced this? and if so has anyone found a way to shop without the courier companies reaching for the vaseline every time you buy something from abroad? :popcorn

·
Old Hero's Die Hard
1,489 Posts
Yes i had this problem i had to pay £28 charge on a £90 item (£18 clearance & £10 admin handling charge), almost a third of what it was actually worth. The only way around this is to get the seller to mark the parcel as a gift under the value of either $15 or $25 i can not remember the actual amount. otherwise you will get stung with a customs/handling charge everytime! i have only experienced this once a few months back and i have received well over 70 items from over seas.

so in future request that the seller marks the item as a gift under the value of $15 or $25 to avoid this. but in all honesty if the seller wishes to mark the item properly it is in his rights to do so.

hope this helps

john

·
Registered
500 Posts