One Sixth Warriors Forum banner
1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
Wild Bunch Customs
807 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I've been a member here since 2004, and collecting 1/6 since the GIJOE Hall of Fame line was introduced in the early 1990s. Until now, I've been lucky to have never been scammed.

Recently, I sold my first two items on eBay. The first item, non-1/6, went off without a hitch.

My second sale didn't go as well.

The figure was purchased by eBay user "babygq14". Firstly, the member took a week to send payment, and when contacted cited the bank holding up the money. No problem, I was understanding, things happen. And being that I am new to the eBay selling experience, I gave him the benefit of the doubt.

I received the payment and shipped.

Well, the buyer then opened a claim, unbelievably stating that I sent him a sealed box, with nothing inside but bubble wrap. This was not the case. In fact, I brought the item loose to a shipping store, where it was placed in a box in front of me, and packaged and prepared for UPS pick up.

I've since been in touch with the man who did this, who happens to be the store owner, and he's corroborated my story and is willing to provide such details to whomever will require. He also has the UPS ticket with the weight showing it was not in fact an "empty box". Note that the buyer did not claim it was damaged, just that I did not package an item inside.

I responded to him, resulting in him getting defensive. I've been in touch with eBay and they are working with me to solve this.

So, I wanted to give a heads-up to any other potential buyers/seller to beware getting scammed by this user.

Any helpful advice is appreciated, as I do not want ANYONE, myself especially, nor eBay to have to pay any money towards this person, considering they did receive the item.

Thanks for reading.

·
Registered
2,946 Posts