One Sixth Warriors Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
^_^
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Just want to share some pictures of my Private "Peter J. Coates", British Expeditionary Force Infantryman, Dunkirk 1940 Figure.

This is my first time looking at WW2 figures and gear, so please let me know if I have anything set up incorrectly, or any historical inaccuracy.

This is the first time I have ever had a DML figure, I was bought it as a gift, and I'm very happy with it.

I did some light weathering. I diluted some Vallejo acrylics and brushed it into the fabric with a hard bristled toothbrush, and I think it turned out okay. It's my first shot at weathering a figure. I then dry brushed some Tamiya acrylic on the helmet, and then rubbed some acrylic onto it with my finger. I can provide some pics if anyone wants to see the process.

Blousing his trousers was a bit of a pain, so I decided to wrap some elastic bands around his ankles to stop them moving about.

Once I've finished my 75th Ranger build, I think I'm going to have to turn my attention to some Modern Brits to go with him!

Thanks for looking ^_^

·
The Mighty Boosh
8,425 Posts
Nice job!

I have a soft-spot for this figure as it's based on one I did of my father, which is why it has our family name 'Coates'. The three mods from http://www.onesixth.co.uk - myself, Pete 'Old Git' and Neil 'The Ulsterman' also helped DML with the figure.

·
^_^
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
@Pickle Munkey - Thanks for the link, I shall have a read

@Actionman - I've already read your thread over on Onesixth UK, it provided some excellent background of the figure, so thanks for that :)

·
Captain Eyestrain
1,198 Posts
He looks fine .
If you wanted him to be very authentic, you could repaint his helmet khaki.
British Mk.II helmets at that date were still khaki , roughly Vallejo 70921 " English Uniform". The dark green colour didn't come in until later.
But that's only nitpicking really.

·
^_^
130 Posts