One Sixth Warriors Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
1:6 Acquisitionist
12,822 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
See subject.

http://www.foxnews.com/politics/201...-more-reliable-gun-packing-better-knock-down/

I have zero expertise/experience when it comes to 1:1 handguns/weaponry. I know quite a few within the OSW have expertise/experience in terms of 1:1 handguns/weaponry due to prior law enforcement/military/gun collecting/sportsman background.

Given the nature of the defense industry and the gun manufacturing industry in general and the nature of conflicts and the importance of effectively & properly arming/equipping our armed forces, I do hope that US Army will not fall prey to usual money issues in terms of bloated budgets, bribery, kick backs, lobbying, etc. from the respective manufacturers resulting in an inferior armament being select purely due to money in the pockets of a few and not for the right reasons.

·
Registered
338 Posts
Re: Army is looking to replace M9 & M11 pistols with more reliable pistol . . .

It's good that they're getting rid of the M9. It's a miserable handgun and only gets worse with age. I'm honestly surprised they didn't switch to Glock or Sig Sauer years ago for all branches. Their weapon systems perform far better. But as with any government contract it'll come down to who is the lowest bidder and yea, some palms will more than likely be greased within the DoD before the matter is settled.

·
Registered
605 Posts

The Glock is one of the better handguns out there, much better in fact than the Sig Sauer that have a weakness where the slide meets the body of the gun!
The M9 is in fact the italian Beretta and that says it all.:zen

:hat

·
Say what?
9,400 Posts

I have three Colt .45 automatics. Those are damn nice guns. If you even make an attempt at keeping them clean, they'll function properly for damn near ever.

Their only drawback is they're a little heavy