One Sixth Warriors Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all,

I've finally finished it! Here is my first ACW custom figure representing a Union Cavalry Sergeant Major. This is my first bash and I'm not a pro of 1/6, but I hope you like it!

I'm not a painting expert so that's why I used pastels to weather the uniform, the head and a little bit on the hands as well. I've also done a bit of custom work on the shell jacket by adding rank insignas (transfer), yellow trimming (DMC thread glued on cloth) and supplementary buttons (collar and sleeves). About these additionnal buttons, due to their size, I could only put one on each side of the collar instead of 2 as it used to be on real uniform. Here are the credits :

- figure body : Dragon (Andy Carlson head)
- boots with spurs, belt buckle, ammo belt pouch : Sideshow
- shell jacket, forage cap, trousers, shirt, braces, belt, holster, ammo box with strap, saber with scabbard : Battle Gear Toys
- weapons (M1851 Army Clot revolver and Spencer Carbine) : Stevo's Toys
- weathering :Tamiya weathering pastels
- trimming :DMC thread

According to my own research, the Spencer carbine looks like it hadn't any saddle ring. So that's why I didn't put a sling on my figure. I suppose that this carbine used to be carry only in a rifle boot on the saddle gear. I've put an ammo box with strap on my man but it is just a personnal choice. It looks like this kind of ammo box was carried mostly by infantry troops. But I just thought that mounted troops could have some too, just by getting some from wounded comrades on the battlefield for example.

Hope you enjoy looking at my figure! :)

·
Registered
1,556 Posts
Your figure looks great for a first bash. Nice weathering.