One Sixth Warriors Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Banned
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a 3D designer by trade and hobby. I have a few questions about wants and needs.

1. I use Shapeways for printing masters for molding and use the "Ultra Frost Detail" but the stuff is too pricey for most.

2. Shapeways Tough a White material is cheap but grainy and much fine detail is lost.

So my question is which materials are prefered?

Drawing for Ultra Frost is time consuming to get in all the details. If the majority order in the cheap material, there is no need to make it a higly detailed model. As a matter of fact for the cheap stuff, it can be drawn in a way to make it look sharper and cleaner by ommiting some detail while enhancing ones that will show.

So PLEASE chime in and give an opinion.

I would really like to know because I seen on another thread several request and will use the example of the chainsaw request. If drawn for cheap white, it would ony take maybe two hours to draw. If drawn for for the "Ultra Frost Detail" material it would take about 12 hours..

I see a lot of guns and other things on the board printed in cheap material.
Were you OK with the results?
Would you order other guns or objects in the same material again?

Thanks A Million guys!

·
OSW Admin staff
5,758 Posts
You ask some interesting questions, especially at a time when 3D printing is coming of age.

Detail vs Cost is the real question. No doubt that everyone wants the most detail you can get, but most do not want to pay for it. They want champagne at beer price.

A lot also depends on what it is you are printing.

A beer can for instance (I seen them on the shapeways site) does not need to be as detailed as say an M16 or other weapon.

In the end the price of an item, regardless of the detail, will dictate what will sell and what won't.