Scale Size Question

Collect. Kitbash. Customize. Community. Showcasing the Best of Sixth Scale Modeling.

Thread: Scale Size Question

Scale Size Question

Hello,

Yes I am a newb to this forum and to 1/6 Scale figures so I have a newb question...

I have collected the smaller 7" figures for a while now (and some of the other 12" to 18" Neca, Mezco, etc) and after seeing the 1/6 DC Direct DN Joker I had to have it. Then I wanted to get at least 1 Sideshow and 1 Hot Toys figure as well. So I got the Indiana Jones Sideshow figure and just recently (which many of you helped me fix) I got the Hot Toys Bank Robber Joker. Oh and I also have the DN Batman as well.

My question is, it seems that each company's 1/6 scale is different. The DC Direct DN Joker is at least more then an inch taller then the Hot Toys Joker but seems to have a smaller head. Even the gun for the DC one is HUGE comparered to the HT one. SS Indy seems closer in scale to HT Joker but is taller still but not as tall as the DC Joker. Which is more in scale?

Thanks!
    Jay

2. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

Re: Scale Size Question

Hello Jay,

I wish there was an industry standard but there isn't. True 1/6th scale should be 2 inches = 1ft in the real world.

So a 12" figure would translate to 6ft in reality. 11.5" to 5'6" and so on...

Don't know if that helps but mathematically that should be right.

By all means ladies and gentlemen correct me if I am wrong.

And personally, I don't think DCD should advertise their figures as 1/6th scale. But that's just me.

Quote Originally Posted by CREG Customs View Post
    Hello Jay,

I wish there was an industry standard but there isn't. True 1/6th scale should be 2 inches = 1ft in the real world.

So a 12" figure would translate to 6ft in reality. 11.5" to 5'6" and so on...

Don't know if that helps but mathematically that should be right.

By all means ladies and gentlemen correct me if I am wrong.