Male vs Female Faces

Collect. Kitbash. Customize. Community. Showcasing the Best of Sixth Scale Modeling.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Male vs Female Faces

Male vs Female Faces

Did a quick search and didn't find anything on this so thought it would be an interesting topic.

Now I'm fairly new to this hobby but I've noticed that male faces tend to be much more representative of who they are modeled after as opposed to female faces. The only ones that seem to replicate the female face pretty well are those that look more anime-ish. Spoke to a few friend (male and female) and the following points seemed the most convincing.

1) Male faces have more pronounced features that are easier to recognize and replicate

2) Alot of female "features" tend to be the result of makeup/lighting/angles

3) Guys tend to pay more attention to female features because they are more likely to stare at a girl then a guy and vice versa so it's difficult to replicate a face of the opposite gender to the observer.

And these are my thoughts on those 3 points

1) This might be true I honestly don't know how to judge this. But you figure that no matter how subtle the detail is, paying hundreds of dollars for a head from a company like hot toys who has spent probably thousands if not millions in R&D not to mention actual production costs on details should be able to capture these small details.