One Sixth Warriors Forum banner

Questions from a beginner...

2K views 16 replies 12 participants last post by  shovelchop81 
#1 ·
Hi guys, I'm new to 1/6th figures...

I just received my first box set and I'm wondering,

1. do you guys trim excess straps from gear/belts/vests?

2. what's the best way to repair broken pieces? Crazy glue?

3. What's the best way to put a figure together? Equipment, tools, extra set of hands, clamps, magnifying glass?

4. any additional tips?

#2 ·
first off welcome. i'm pretty new here to but this is one awsome community very very nice ppl. 1. the straps you can cutt them off or if you can tuck them in somewhere.
2. i use glue on my broken pieces. but i think some other ppl here will say something differnt
3. tweezers really. and patiences.... what you can use and i use one is a soldering stand. its got two little alligator clamps and a magnifying glass on it to. you can get if from radio shack.
4. have fun and enjoy yourself.

#3 ·
Welcome,

Well, I'm still new to hobby and some great advice I got was,

to get a head off the body, or shoes, run a hairdryer on high and hot over the piece and let it get really soft and then it comes off without any probelm. Just slighty bend the head off slowly, do not pull on it. That helped me out big time.

For shoes or boots that are two small for the foot, I cut a small slit on the back of the shoe and the foot went in and the clothes will cover up the back to hid it.

I bought this clay called sculpty 3 at a hobby store (Michaels craft store) and for $1.00, and this stuff is the best. I'm not a sculpter at all, but this stuff is easy to work with, when you are done run a hairdryer to heat it for 5 minutes, then it becomes hard, then I used water acrylic paint on the clay and it dry quick and went on very well.

Other stuff I'm using now is an exacto knife, and just pain stuff from around the house...and a lot of EBAY...