Sculpting Gladiator Maximus Hair onto 1/6 Jor El Head [Archive] - OSW: One Sixth Warrior Forum

View Full Version : Sculpting Gladiator Maximus Hair onto 1/6 Jor El Head

pianoteam
01-29-2017, 17:01
Hi everyone,

I am working on my first custom figure, Maximus from Gladiator. I was inspired by a custom figure on the ACI Roman General thread and want to do the same (more or less). I am in the process of obtaining new clothing, dying, and changing other things. Now I'm working on sculpting Maximus' hair using a recast Hot Toys Jor El head from ebay and need some help. I'm a complete beginner and looked at some tutorials but haven't found out much about sculpting such short hair like this:

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170129/4d4c168b76b7f9d6d98797a307c7da94.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170129/4808ac9f61447d5bee6d6a3b40c297fc.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170129/5a34dd4306617efc4e5e2157cc6ae507.jpg

I got an inexpensive air dry paper clay and some random thin objects to use as tools but when I tried to sculpt the clay seemed to break easily and I just couldn't get grooves small enough. Here is a practise sample I've done:
(Unpainted)
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170129/394a974837c054726eccc3551b9ac6dd.jpg

(Painted)
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170129/d189bd7caa14afc958112156427f3f29.jpg

I used these tools (a needle and another sewing tool). I tried other things as well but they didn't work.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170129/dd0726e90436c2784413d5aee4e240a1.jpg

I was thinking to use Aves epoxy sculpt and thought maybe some dental tools would be thin enough to make the grooves however I think the tools need to be blunt not sharp.
Does anyone have any advice on what I can do? It would be much appreciated. Also here is a photo of what I am sculpting onto:

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170129/208689819b71624321d699f0946fd3d5.jpg

(I will be dremeling off the front hair soon.)

Thanks!

pukingdog
02-01-2017, 11:46