(Question) Paper Clay Works? [Archive] - OSW: One Sixth Warrior Forum

View Full Version : (Question) Paper Clay Works?

onionfry
05-06-2008, 10:24
hi guys
i am new to this hobby. i was wondering if anybody here has used paper clay to sculpt custom heads before? is it do-able?
maybe you could help by posting examples. if you have any. otherwise, a simple yes or no should be sufficient.
thank you very much

saiko
05-06-2008, 13:04
Paperclay as in greenware, leather-hard, bone dry and kiln fired?
I tried once before in ceramics class, the thing was so small, but it survived. The texture was awful though [I was using cinco blanco] and it shrunk a lot.

Most people here use polymer clays for sculpting custom heads, particularly Super Sculpey firm. Its really easily workable, and stays pliable until you're ready to bake. I still have unbaked heads started from like 8 months ago that I can fiddle with. Just keep everything in a little box so dust can't get on them. Afterwards you can cut and sand the pieces, or score and add on new parts. If you're accustomed to using fibreclay already, then polymer clay will make you happy. The stages are easier and the baking time waay shorter, plus when you drop it, it usually doesn't shatter or chip [fragile parts like ears might, or add on parts might break off if you didn't score well enough].

I also use regular Super Sculpey in the flesh tone, and sometimes Sculpey 3. Stay away from Original Sculpey, its rubbish.
Another option is Fimo clay, which a sculptor named Tony Barton uses. I used it a few times but didn't like it. If you do use it, don't put it on anything painting in acrylic/latex house paint as it eats through it. [My desk can attest to that D:]