Help copying a Sideshow headsculpt [Archive] - OSW: One Sixth Warrior Forum

View Full Version : Help copying a Sideshow headsculpt

slobodaneee
10-10-2005, 18:13
Greetings,

I recently purchased a Highlander figure (Duncan with the ponytail). The head seems a tad large. I want to make a latex mold and then resin copy to later shrink in acetone. I realize I have a proble from jump street - the ponytail. If I dip the head in latex or coat it in latex, the latex mold will tear when I try to peal it off to pour the resin mold. Any suggestions?

Eagle_MP
10-10-2005, 18:40
How about molding the head and pony tail seprate?

derek
10-10-2005, 19:38
if you put a resin head in acetone, it will dissolve it.

you should just buy the frontline's highlander head. it wil be in proper 1/6th scale.

slobodaneee
10-10-2005, 21:23
How about molding the head and pony tail seprate?

I'm not sure how to do separate molds. I'm new to this molding thing. thanks for the advise.

Derek wrote, "If you put a resin head in acetone, it will dissolve it.
you should just buy the frontline's highlander head. it wil be in proper 1/6th scale."

Thanks for the heads up. I didn't know Frontline had a Duncan headsculpt. To the experienced molders: Do copies turn out smaller than the original? Slobo

derek
10-11-2005, 13:44
I'm not sure how to do separate molds. I'm new to this molding thing. thanks for the advise.

Derek wrote, "If you put a resin head in acetone, it will dissolve it.
you should just buy the frontline's highlander head. it wil be in proper 1/6th scale."

Thanks for the heads up. I didn't know Frontline had a Duncan headsculpt. To the experienced molders: Do copies turn out smaller than the original? Slobo

i'm sorry, i confused conner with duncan.

the amount of shrinkage will be so small, you won't be able to tell by looking at it. and unless you have the proper equipment, your cast will be full of air bubbles.