help with soviet weapons [Archive] - OSW: One Sixth Warrior Forum

View Full Version : help with soviet weapons

steviedoubleu
07-23-2010, 10:52
Hi everyone, I'm new to 1/6th modelling. Could any of you talented souls out there point me in the right direction as to scratch building soviet small arms of the 1970s? I am interested in making an AK47 - SKS - RPD & an RPG7 launcher (with missile). I have more ambition than skill so would really appreciate any good tips &/or tutorials. Thanks in anticipation.

ActionMan
07-23-2010, 18:25
There is a commercially made RPG-7 made (I think it's metal), and there are some resin version of at least one of the other weapons you want.

Before someone :overkill you I'd gently suggest using the OSW search function before posting a myriad of questions - most of the things you want to know will have been covered already.

If you do find a useful thread - even if it's a old one - feel free to add a reply or add questions for clarification on it.

Ivan1GFP
07-26-2010, 15:53
I have seen all the other weapons except the RPG-7. Why not buy commercially made ones? They will look better than what you can probably make, especially since you claim to have no experience making such.

None of the stuff you listed is all that rare in 1:6 scale.

- Ivan.

k9cop33
07-26-2010, 16:23
I think all but the RPD has been made. At least I haven't seen an RPD, if I did I would have bought it. I think it was Zacca that made the RPG-7, not 100% sure though, but I have one so I know there is at least that floating around.

russcal
07-26-2010, 17:21
Heya, Steviedoubleu!

Everything you asl about has been made except for the RPD.

AK-47 / AKM: Dragon, 21st Century, Zacca, and Soldier Story with a metal and wood Type 56.
SKS: 21st Century put out a fairly nice SKS with a blade bayonet.
RPG-7: 21st Century, Armory, Zacca, and there has been a recent release from a new Chinese company.

I don't list all the manufacturers, just a sampling.