Collect. Kitbash. Customize. Community. Showcasing the Best of Sixth Scale Modeling.

Thread: Looking for 1/6 British/Falklands comms

Question Looking for 1/6 British/Falklands comms

I'm new to this hobby, and I've decided I'd like to tackle "The Yomper."

I've sourced almost everything I need, but I'm having a helluva time trying to accurately identify the Yomper's comms, the radio he's schlepping on his back, to which is attached the flag that makes the whole photo "An Iconic Photo."

I'm assuming it's a Clansman unit of some kind, maybe a PRC-344 (seems to be about the same size), but I just can't say for sure.

Once I identify it, I've got to go find someone or something who sells a very small plastic version of it - or a reasonable facsimile.

Can anyone help out?Looking for 1/6 British/Falklands comms-heading_into_port_stanley-jpg

Re: Looking for 1/6 British/Falklands comms

I've done quite a bit of Falklands bashing and have never seen a radio. This would be a cool figure for DAM to produce.

I was surprised to find no studio (that I know, anyway) hadn't done a "proper" Yomper. Dragon of course did the Para, Graham, which is still kinda cool, but of course the Yomper himself was a Marine Commando. What's more, IIRC Graham's Union Jack is just sticking out of his pack, instead of attached to an aerial. Gotta bash one out!

I found a large, somewhat grainy version of that pic - https://i2.wp.com/www.defensemediane...it=1600%2C2379 - and a slightly smaller, crisper version - https://www.thesun.co.uk/wp-content/....jpg?strip=all

Here's a crop shot -

Are you planning on having it beneath his other gear, as in this shot, or out on top?
    You are
    What you do
    When it counts---The Masao
    - Ryan Bonaminio lived his life this way -

I would try for beneath, which could open up some less rigorous options. I imagine it'd be a little easier to cover up if that were the case. I don't see he's wearing a rack/frame for anything.