One Sixth Warriors: Sixth Scale Action Figure News, Reviews, & Discussion

Go Back   OSW: One Sixth Warrior Forum > Main Discussion Forums > Loose Bits (Off Topic)

Loose Bits (Off Topic) For discussions without a home. Please no religion, current events or political rants.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-25-2005, 04:58
Private Investigator

Question 1/35 Military Figures Painting

i have a dozen 1/35 military miniature figure sets by Dragon lying around here, and i would like to start putting them together for display use.

however, i'm new to this kind of stuff, and i don't know how to correctly paint them. do you paint all parts before assembly? or do you assemble first, and paint the figure as a whole?

to apply a camo job, it would make sense to paint the whole figure at once. but other parts like hands and heads would probably have to be painted before assembling the whole figure.

what is the correct procedure?
Old 02-25-2005, 08:24
OSW Member

From my 1/35 days a few years ago...I painted after assembly except for the head, I kept it attached to the sprue for easier handling. I painted then washed and dry brushed the uniform before adding the accessories (holsters, packs, etc.). Then finished the hands/head then helmet, beret, etc. There are loads of books available for painting figures, Verlinden's are always good except that they use oils alot, which I never had much luck with. Good luck.
Old 02-25-2005, 15:41
"Ya think"?

I assemble the figures, stick them on an empty paint bottle (for holding and turning) and paint. Use rubber cement for sticking to the paint bottle.
Old 02-26-2005, 01:12
Unabashed 5.11 Junky

I'm used to painting 25/28mm figs. Assembling them before painting is the 'accepted' method, but it's pretty much whatever you feel gives you the best results. Here's a few things I've learned after 14 years of painting minis: